The National Standards for Volunteer Involvement

The National Standards for Involving Volunteers in Not for Profit Organisations represent best practice in volunteer management. The National Standards provide a model for supporting and involving volunteers in your organisation, covering eight key areas:

  • Policies and procedures
  • Management responsibilities
  • Recruitment
  • Work and the workplace
  • Training and development
  • Service delivery
  • Documentation
  • Continuous improvement.

Following the standards will ensure that volunteer rights are protected, that their role is clear and that they work in a safe and healthy environment. Many organisations use the National Standards as the basis for their Code of practice.

The National Standards are not mandatory but you may wish to identify the areas that are of most relevance and importance to your organisation right now and focus on those.